new meal monday :: breakfast smoothie

The new recipe I’m sharing this week is the breakfast smoothie I’ve been drinking this  month.

DSC_0012

Don’t let the green color of the drink turn you off! It tastes better than it looks. I took this recipe off of a Pinterest board and tweaked it a little bit to make it work for the kids and myself.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED

1/2 banana
1/4 cup of rolled oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats)
1 tbsp honey
1/4 cup of fat free plain Greek Yogurt
1 leaf of kale
1/2 cup of frozen strawberries

1/2 cup of water

Throw all of these ingredients in a blender (I use a Magic Bullet) for 1-2 minutes. Enjoy!

Obviously adjust ingredients to your needs and tastes. If this is your first experiment with smoothies maybe skip the kale and add spinach instead or don’t add any greens. Spinach has less taste than kale. This smoothie keeps me going until mid-morning. And because it is gluten-free plus the added protein from the yogurt I don’t have that energy crash an hour later. The kids love it and have it a couple of mornings a week with me, but sometimes they choose their Honey Nut Cheerios over Mom’s smoothie.

I plan on substituting coconut milk or coconut yogurt for the greek yogurt this week. I haven’t tried that yet, but I’d like to cut dairy out of the smoothie and my health conscious sister suggested this. If you’d like to cut dairy out of your diet too, this is another option.

Give it a try! You’ll already have half your servings of fruits and vegetables eaten in your day by breakfast. I hope you enjoy and experience more energy in your mornings.
DSC_0015
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to new meal monday :: breakfast smoothie

  1. Grandma Sue says:

    I found I am allergic to strawberries so use frozen mangos or peaches.

    • kaybecker says:

      I use frozen mango and peaches in my afternoon green smoothies. This is a different breakfast smoothie, but you could use any frozen fruit in this breakfast smoothie.

  2. Sarah says:

    definitely will have to try this one!

Leave a Reply

